

Established 1983

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Mark Lee, *President*Susan Sample, *Vice President*Sarah Winkler, *Sec./Treas*.

Massoud Dioun Donald Perkins Michele Fraga Randhir Sahni Chris Gonzalez Carla Wyatt

Executive Director: Kathleen Ownby Assistant Director: Diane Cannon

SPARK Schools:

Houston I.S.D.

Almeda, Anderson, Ashford, Askew, Atherton, Benavidez, Berry, Braeburn, Briscoe, Browning, Burrus, Cage, Carrillo, Chavez H.S., Clifton M.S., Coon Cornelius Crockett Davila Davis H.S. Deady M.S., Edison M.S., Eliot, Emerson, Field, Fleming M.S., Fonwood, Franklin, Gallegos, Garcia, Garden Oaks, Garden Villas, Hamilton M.S., R. P. Harris, Hartsfield, Helms, J. P. Henderson, Henry M.S., Herrera, Hobby, Hogg M.S., Holland M.S., Houston International Academy, HSLECJ. Jackson M.S., Janowski, Jefferson, Johnston M.S., Kashmere Gardens, Kashmere H.S., Ketelsen, Lockhart, Looscan, Lyons, Mading, McGowen, McRevnolds M.S., Memorial, Milne, Montgomery Moreno, Northline, Oates, Ortiz M.S., Osborne, Park Place, Patterson, Petersen, Piney Point, Poe, Port Houston, Revere M.S., Reynolds, River Oaks, Roberts, Robinson, Rodriguez, T. H. Rogers, Ross Scarborough, School at St. George Place, Shadydale, Sinclair, Sharpstown H.S., Stevens, Stevenson M.S., Sutton, Tijerina, Tinsley, Travis, Valley West, Wainwright, Waltrip H.S., Washington H.S., Westbury H.S., W. University, Wharton, Whidby, E. White, Whittier, Wilson, Woodson Leadership Academy, Young Scholars

Aldine I.S.D.

Carroll E.S., Harris Academy, Stovall M.S.

Alief I.S.D.

Alexander, Best, Chambers, Collins, Cummings, Landis, Liestman, Smith, Sneed, Alief Community

Clear Creek I.S.D. McWhirter Elem.

Fort Bend I.S.D.

Ridgemont Elem.

Galena Park I.S.D. Cimarron, Pyburn, Woodland Acres

Goose Creek C.I.S.D.

Harlem Elem.

Humble I.S.D.

Fall Creek Elem

Klein I.S.D.

Kaiser Elem.

Freeman, Garfield, Kruse, Matthys, Parks

Spring Branch I.S.D.

Bendwood, Cedar Brook, Buffalo Creek, Hollibrook, Meadow Wood, Nottingham, Pine Shadows, Ridgecrest, Shadow Oaks, Sherwood, Spring Forest M.S., Spring Shadows, Spring Woods H.S., Spring Woods M.S., Terrace, Treasure Forest, Valley Oaks. Woodview

Waller I.S.D. Schultz M.S.

East Baton Rouge Parish, LA

Banks Elen

City of San Antonio. – Adams, Boone, Camelot, Neal, Passmore, Price, Sky Harbor, Villareal

NEWS RELEASE

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: KATHLEEN OWNBY, SPARK EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR (832) 393-0911.

Dedication ceremonies for the **Helms Elementary School SPARK Park** will be held Monday, November 17, 2014 at 1:00 PM, announced Kathleen Ownby, Executive Director of the SPARK Program. The 2015 SPARK Art Calendar will be unveiled. Students will receive a copy of the 6th edition, 3rd printing SPARK Coloring Book to celebrate the occasion.

The Helms SPARK Park is a cooperative venture of Houston ISD and the Helms parents and students. The park includes new picnic tables and trash cans. Local artist Reginald Adams worked with art teacher Mrs. Che Rickman and students on tiles which will adorn the seat wall around the existing play equipment, as well as on the pillars at the entrance to the park. A labyrinth design has also been painted at the entrance to the park.

The school contributed \$2,200 for their SPARK Park. Other funding for the park includes \$5,000 from HISD, \$5,000 from Harris County Precinct 4 Jack Cagle's office, and \$10,000 from Shell Oil Company.

To honor the occasion, Congressman Ted Poe's office will present a United States flag that has flown over the Capitol in Washington, D.C. State Representative Jessica Farrar will present a state flag that has flown over the Texas Capitol. State Senator John Whitmire's office will provide a certificate of recognition.

Those helping Helms Elementary principal John Baker dedicate the new SPARK Park are:

Heather Ramsey-Cook, office of Ted Poe, U.S. Congressman, District 2
Jessica Farrar, State Representative, District 148
Ellen Cohen, Houston City Council, District C
Anna Eastman, HISD Trustee, District 1
Commissioner Jack Cagle, Harris County Precinct 4
Reginald Adams, artist
Christy Williams, HISD SPARK liaison
Susan Sample, SPARK Board Member
Michele Fraga, SPARK Board Member
Kevin Hanes, BJ's Parks & Recreation

